by Allen Wyatt
(last updated December 5, 2013)
The collaborative aspects of Google Drive are quite enticing. Someone can create a document or a spreadsheet and then give you access to it with nothing more than your e-mail address. Then, depending on what the person allows you to do, you can read, change, and update information in the shared file.
Normally you can see what people have shared with you by logging into Drive and then clicking Shared with Me at the left side of the Drive screen. You may, however, want a file to be copied to your actual Drive space rather than simply being available as a shared file. Here's how you can accomplish this task:
That's it; you can see the file in your Drive space by clicking My Drive at the left of the screen. Note, too, that the file is notated as "Shared" in the file listing. This means that even though it is in your Drive space, any collaborative work done on the file is still shared with those who have access to that file.
Drive lets you organize and work with files that it stores for you. It also gives you control over how you view the files ...Discover More
Overwhelmed with the number of files displayed on your screen when using Drive? Here's a handy way you can limit what is ...Discover More
Want to get a glimpse of what is inside a file without evening opening it? Drive provides two distinct ways of peeking ...Discover More